Day 49

Is this right? I have been asking myself that question a lot recently.

Today, during lunch, I didn’t really have anywhere to be. So, I just kind of drove around, eating a bite and enjoying the break. I decided to drive by the land. This is the land that we have previously decided we wanted to live on for many years to come.

As I drove back to our lot, I thought about the houses you see on the way back to where our land is. I started asking myself if those other houses were good enough…if they were kept up enough. And however old they are and however they are a different style than ours, they are just that…they are kept up and they are kept nice. They are just in good working order, and there is nothing else that can be said about it.

I suppose that is a good thing. I’m not sure why I’m feeling all of the emotion I am recently. I mean, we deliberated about this land and decided it was best for location, value, etc. It can’t possibly be because of how long this approval process has taken. In fact, I think that is precisely the reason…too much time to think about it over the last few weeks. It had me doubting the plans we made, the spot we picked and anything else that was decided long ago.

My wife has a very calming effect on me though. When my mind starts to wander and I begin to question decisions that were made long ago. She just looks at me and says usually one, simple sentence that sets it all back right.

Until next time…

Standard

Leave a comment